## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Robert W. Hayes Jr. Michael Hitchcock Joshua L. Howard Andrew N. Safran



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

November 16, 2017

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates qualified and nominated at the public hearings held November 13–15, 2017:

**Supreme Court** 

Seat 3	The Honorable John W. Kittredg	e Greenville SC

**Court of Appeals** 

Seat 8 The Honorable Thomas E. Huff, North Augusta, SC

Circuit Court

3<sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Kristi Fisher Curtis, Sumter, SC

Ryan Kirk Griffin, Sumter, SC Timothy Ward Murphy, Sumter, SC

4th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Roger E. Henderson, Chesterfield, SC

5<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable L. Casey Manning, Columbia, SC

7<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Grace Gilchrist Knie, Campobello, SC

8th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Eugene Cannon Griffith Jr., Prosperity, SC

10<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable R. Scott Sprouse, Walhalla, SC

11<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable William Paul Keesley, Edgefield, SC

12<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Michael Nettles, Lake City, SC

13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Letitia Hamilton Verdin, Greenville, SC

13<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 4 The Honorable Alex Kinlaw Jr., Greenville, SC

John (Jack) Patrick Riordan, Greenville, SC The Honorable Jessica Ann Salvini, Greenville, SC 14th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Perry McPherson Buckner III, Walterboro, SC

16<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Bryson John Barrowclough, Tega Cay, SC

William Angus McKinnon, Rock Hill, SC James Michael Morton, Rock Hill, SC

**Administrative Law** Court

Seat 5 The Honorable Shirley Canty Robinson, Columbia, SC

Public hearings for the remaining judicial positions will resume on Monday, November 27, 2017.

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 16, 2018. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The Election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 7, 2018.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina 29202, (803) 212-6689 or Lindi Legare, JMSC Administrative Assistant, (803) 212-6623.